Something new

Formal wear for me has always been black trousers + white blouse + coloured blazer (more on that in another post).
But this time I decided to do something new.

something-new-7

This printed skirt is one that I first set eyes on in a Zara in Mumbai. I never got my hands on it until later, but I fell in love with it the moment I saw it. Deciding to think about it for a while, I didn’t buy it on impulse. It didn’t get out of my head, so I took it as a sign and bought it two weeks later.

something-new-9

The styling is inspired by a woman I saw on the road in Italy– street style is the best in Milan, where everyday outfits are styled impeccably. And since a Zara item in Italy is the equivalent of a kurti from Lifestyle in Chennai, I invariably saw this skirt on a woman in Italy, where she wore it with a powder blue shirt and sunglasses.

something-new-11

My favourite white ankle strap sandals + sparkly necklace finish the look out. Ankle straps and midi (knee and below) length skirts go very well together, so I wore the flats. Powder blue ankle-strap heels would also be a great pairing.

something-new-5

Simple gunmetal coloured accessories– the earrings and necklace are the same metal, keeping it coordinated.

 

A pop of colour from the pink lips (it’s become a trademark!) keeps the outfit light. The full tuck of the shirt allows the flare of the skirt to shine.

something-new-10

Can I just say I love the flounce of this skirt so much? It’s one of my favourite buys this year. I can’t wait to wear it more. The practical length + playful silhouette + not-too-trendy print make it perfect for all seasons and occasions. Investment well made.

something-new-8

Powder blue is also a new classic colour that I think everyone should buy. It pairs surprisingly with almost every neutral, and is the perfect base to build outfits on. Here, the plain shirt is a classic, paired with a graphic print.

Wearing: Shirt from Bangkok, Skirt from Zara, Sandals from H&M, Necklace + earrings from Forever 21, Watch from Hilfiger.
Lipstick is Givenchy Le Rouge in Rose Dressing.

2 thoughts on “Something new

  1. Hi!
    I absolutely love, love your blog! It’s totally awesomesauce!
    At a risk of sounding creepy, I have to say that I’ve seen you somewhere in this outfit. Was it at some Chennai MUN in August or September?

Leave a comment